Monthly Archive: June, 2013

The NSFW Files: “Naked Lunch,” by William S. Burroughs

by

This week, Karl Wolff returns to the NSFW Files to investigate “Naked Lunch,” by William S. Burroughs, the 1959 sensation that marked a watershed for free expression in literature and included Mugwumps, heroin, and lots and lots of sex.

Rate this:

CCLaP Fridays: Happy Talk, by Richard Melo

by

This week at CCLaP, I review “Happy Talk” by Richard Melo, a novel set in 1950s Haiti about gun-toting student nurses, Baron Samedi, and UNESCO filmmakers.

Rate this:

Capital, by John Lanchester @ NYJB

by

“Capital” by John Lanchester is “. . . a meaty slab of literary realism in the tradition of Charles Dickens, Honoré de Balzac, and Émile Zola . . .”

Rate this:

CCLaP Fridays: Escape From Paris, by Carolyn Hart

by

Today at CCLaP, Karl Wolff reviews “Escape From Paris,” a romantic suspense novel about the early years of the Second World War and two sisters’ battle to save downed British pilots from Nazi menace.

Rate this:

Man from Mars by Fred Nadis @ NYJB & The After-Life Story of Pork Knuckles Malone by MP Johnson @ CCLaP

by

An eccentric publisher from Wisconsin and a bizarro lit novel about a rampaging pig in Green Bay, Wisconsin are showcased in these two book reviews.

Rate this:

CCLaP Fridays: Wheatyard, by Peter Anderson

by

This week at CCLaP, I review Wheatyard by Peter Anderson, a wonderful character study and a finely wrought coming-of-age novel, that one can also see it as a piece of pop culture archeology.

Rate this:

The Arthur J. Magida Interview

by

I interviewed Arthur J. Magida, author of the Nazi Seance, about a Jewish clairvoyant active in Nazi Germany. We discuss serendipity, critical reading, and sensationalism in the media.

Rate this: